New Leaders Elected with Electronic Voting

October 2, 2013 in Past Events

On September 15th, an electronic ballot was sent to all Slow Food East End members asking them to vote for 7 of the 9 candidates running to be Leaders for a two-year term, 2014-2016.  Voting took place September 17-27. Almost one-third of our membership voted, making this the largest and most democratic election our chapter has ever had.

 The following 7 candidates were elected, including the 5 incumbents running for re-election.

  • Judiann Carmack-Fayyaz
  • M. Pierre Friedrichs
  • Bryan Futerman
  • Anne Howard
  • Linda Slezak
  • Megan Schmidt
  • Jeri Woodhouse

Congratulations to our two new Leaders, Pierre Friedrichs and Megan Schmidt, who will join the leadership team that is now expanded from 10 to 12 members. Current Leaders who were not up for re-election this term and whose terms continue include Jeannie Calderale, Tullia Limarzi, Cheryl Stair, Ivo Tomasini, and Joan Turturro.

We wish to thank everyone who ran for office and everyone who took the time to vote Elections do matter, and your Leaders take their responsibility seriously.  We are looking forward to an even better year in 2014.